Malt Maniacs Awards 2011

Malt Maniacs AwardsThe Malt Maniacs Awards 2011 have just been announced. See the score card at

A rather classic result I would say. GlenDronach single casks, Karuizawa, old Strathisla, Port Ellen… they’ve all won gold medals before and we all know how great they can be.


Here’s the full line-up of gold medals:

  • GlenDronach 1972 cask #712GlenDronach 39yo 1972/2011
    (49.9%, OB, Oloroso Butt, C# 712, 466 Bts.)
  • Karuizawa 1981/2011
    (55.2%, OB, C#2634, Btl. 12/08/2011)
  • GlenDronach 39yo 1972/2011
    (54.7%, OB for Taiwan, PX C#2033, 450 Bts.)
  • Lochside 46yo 1965/2011 (52.3%, Adelphi, Limited, Blended Scotch Whisky, 499 Bts.)
  • Strathisla 1970/2011
    (43%, G&M Licensed Bottling, 514 Bts.)
  • Strathisla 1965/2011
    (48%, G&M for LMdW, 1st Fill Sherry, C#3473)
  • Port Ellen 28yo 1982/2011
    (60%, Wilson & Morgan, C#2011, 534 Bts.)
  • Glen Grant 59yo 1952
    (49.2%, G&M Book of Kells, C#1134)

Update: here’s the full jury report.


A few of my personal observations…

First, surprisingly, the most experienced tasters weren’t in the jury. I’m not sure what the effect has been and whether there has been an effect at all. Would be interesting to recalculate last year’s results without those three members. See below.

Second, I think the gold medals are all relatively unknown. I mean, they’re not part of the daily buzz and discussions I’ve seen on forums or blogs or among enthusiasts. Most of the things that everyone was raving about, haven’t even entered the awards. And some of the winners (including the GlenDronach) have been on the shelves for months with low interest (and now suddenly everyone will look for them). Just an observation.

Third, nice to see the same whisky enter twice (two bottles of Talisker 30yo). Great consistency for most tasters. Less so for PD and RM who almost invert each other’s scores… but excellent proof for the reliability of this competition.


Update: our friend Bastien did some recalculations and pointed out that last year’s awards would have been quite different without Serge, Johannes and Davin. Five out of 12 gold medals (Glenfarclas 40, Caperdonich 1972, Port Ellen PE2…) would have been degraded to silver. Karuizawa 1977 Noh would have been the overall winner with the GlenDronach in sixth place! Thanks again Bastien, this confirms our feeling that the preferences of the jury are a major element in any competition!